[Longlist] MID-YEAR BLACKBERRY GIVEAWAY! (finally!)

 Many apologies for the week-long delay in bringing out this shortlist – life got rather busy, and I struggled to find the time to tackle an inboxful of submissions. More than a hundred entries poured in, in response to a call for submissions posted on Twitter towards the end of June. Entrants were asked to send in witty, interesting, revealing answers – in not more than 140 characters – to the question: “Why I Love My Blackberry.”
 
After careful review – I read every submission – I have selected the following 18 submissions (entrants names removed, for obvious reasons) to form the longlist. They cover the spectrum; from the witty to the awwingly romantic, the faintly ridiculous to the thought-provoking.
 
Let’s know what you think – which ones you ‘love’, ‘like’, ‘maybe’ or ‘wtf’?
 
A shortlist of five (5) will be announced on Friday July 6, 2012 (based on your comments!!!), and a winner on Sunday July 8, 2012. The winner will receive a Blackberry Bold 9900 smartphone, courtesy of RIM!
 
  
(ANONYMOUS) LONGLIST
 
1. I love my blackberry because my friends live in it.
*
2. I love my Blackberry because @Yabiswacko said so
*
3. Before na girls my size I dey carry-journo,teacher, nurse;when I got my bb level change-Big gals for telecoms,oil& gas,1 for yankee.#bigboy
*
4. It saved my life, I was down and out, I got a mail about a vacant job, applied & sent my C.V using it & received my appointment letter on it
*
5. I can monitor my crush, meet deadlines and be part of any online community. Best of it? I don’t have to give out my digits. You can ping me!
*
6. The issue is with Fruits. Apple brought us to our doom. Maybe Blackberry will end it. I have to love my BlackBerry.
*
7. I’m a graduate with no job, on my blackberry I get emails of job vacancies everyday and with that I get closer to finding that perfect job.
*
8. From witty tweets to wild emails. From pings of love to texts of sorrow. From photos of joy to apps of happines. My Blackberry, my heart.❤
*
9. “I get so caught up in pinging n tweetin on my bb that i often get into the shower with my clothes on…” – this is why i love my BB
*
10. My nifty little widget
A battery powered gadget
An awesome modern object
Resource on every subject
My ally, my blackberry J
*
11. Frm d mean str of twitter,2 d quiet corner of fb,neva endin pings,d almighty browser n d word mole wen there’s no subscription. ♥ my  
*
12. My fiancé and I can see each other(in pictures) everyday even though we are miles apart and I miss him so.
*
 13. My Blackberry brought out the latent activist in me. From twitter comments to Eagle square, reclaiming NIGERIA through information sharing.
*
14. I love my blackberry because It makes (“)business(“) easier, enables easier setting of paroles and it makes me get a-HEAD (pun intended).
*
15. 4 years ago thought bb disciples were wasting their lives.Fast forward to the present:I realised I don mumu tey tey
*
16. My blackberry has a mind of its own, if you can believe it. Goes off when it feels like, and won’t be told what to do. Such independence.
*
17. I tweet from my perch/I ping & I search/at workshops & bus stops & even in church/12am texting & flirting wiv females/140xters all via email
*
18. The world is finally at my fingertips! I stand astride continents. But best of all,I love my blackberry cos I get to stalk my one true love!
 
 
So, what dost thou think? Who deserves the prize? That’s what the comments box is for – I’ll be taking the comments into consideration when putting together the shortlist
 
***
 
BlackBerry ® Torch 9900 ™ Smartphone
 
Iconic High-end Premium Design
•Best in class wide QWERTY keyboard
•Brilliant high-resolution 287 DPI capacitive touchscreen
•Thinnest BlackBerry ever: 10.5mm
•Brushed stainless steel frame designed with precision for performance and durability
 
Professional-grade Performance
•New 1.2 GHz processor delivering powerful high-end performance
•4x faster HSPA+  connectivity (14.4 mbps)
•768MB RAM + 8GB of ample onboard memory for all types of media
•Liquid Graphics™ – smooth touch; instantly responsive; fluid animation
•5.0MP camera that also supports crisp 720p HD video recording
•Wi-Fi · GPS
 
* Available  in market since September 2011  

45 thoughts on “[Longlist] MID-YEAR BLACKBERRY GIVEAWAY! (finally!)

  1. Bros T,if I can get a bold2 myslf I won’t mind.but aspa d comments above,each 1 of dem deserv to win no exception,cos their answers captures all bout ds BB of dis age.u ar closr to d world.Tnx bros T,I follow u O.

  2. I’ll love no. 5. Because it’s witty, has an edge to it and is actually true. I love the fact that I don’t have2give out my number to ppl I just meet.

    No. 16 is funny sha! But it speaks ill of the blackberry device so I guess its not what rim is looking for.

    No. 18 is nice too but its too short and doesn’t say much.

  3. I honestly love the blackberry because of the look. It looks so sophisticated and professional. The keypad is also super easy to use. I need a phone like this in my life. The blackberry just makes life easier !

  4. Lol. Please why are these people rhyming…did u ask for a rap verse . 5 is the best for me..and deserves it. Funny and reads like an ad. Most people got a bb just so they can be part of an online community: bbm, twitter, facebook etc.

  5. I choose No 7 because I actually received an email for my job interview and it helped me cos I av a job now🙂

  6. Hmm. Some great reasons here. I’m also a graduate. A jobless one. I like entry no 7 because it states y I would want one.

  7. I think all reasons stated above deserve to win. I mean they all capture the essese of a blackberry. But if I’m to pick one, I’ð say I love no 7

  8. No 18 is just very funny. And it’s true. People stalk people. Lol. But I love no 7 nevertheless. Captures why now I would need a blackberry

  9. Entry number 7 deserves the prize coz he/she talked about securing a job which is paramount to any economy! Nothing better explains blackberry’s importance…

  10. Number 7 obviously knows the real use of a blackberry other than the usual pinging and social networking.
    Number 5 is quite funny too, nice
    I vote 7

  11. Most of the entries are from people trying to be funny. Most people don’t even know the real use of a blackberry, 4 and 7 are the best in my opinion because they put the phone into good use

  12. I don’t like the blackberry madness. I like no 7 because basically that’s what I would use it for if I had one

Leave a Reply

